Nanoforum 2019

Goal of the Forum

The objective of this forum was to open an academic space for discussion and socialization of the importance and role that disruptive emerging technologies are playing in the research and development agenda for the 21st century. It will specifically address the challenges, achievements and possibilities offered by quantum science to consolidate and project information, computing, metrology  and communications technologies.

Forum Place

Auditorium, Academia Colombiana de la Lengua

Academic Committee

    • Edgar E González, General Coordinator RedNanoColombia
    • Constanza Castelblanco, Secretary of the Committee
    • Margarita Sofía Narducci, Pontifica Universidad Javeriana
    • Luz Esperanza Guerra, Academia Colombiana de Ciencias Exactas Físicas y Naturales
    • Johann Osma, Universidad de los Andes
    • Oscar Leonardo Herrera, Universidad Central
    • Olimpo José García, Universidad de Ibagué
    • Germán Maldonado, NanoCiTec
    • Jorge Chavarro, CENIGAA
    • César Espinosa, MNTECHNOLOGIES, ZEISS




Serge Haroche, Nobel Prize in Physics 2012

The prof. Serge Haroche has been one of the pioneers in direct observation of individual quantum systems without destroying them.  It is about controlling and measuring photons confined in a trap, with the use of atoms. His works have been fundamental to make possible the current development of quantum computing.  Since 2001, Haroche has been a Professor at the Collège de France and holds the Chair of Quantum Physics.

He was awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics in the year 2012. Prize motivation: "for ground-breaking experimental methods that enable measuring and manipulation of individual quantum systems." Other awards include the Grand Prix Jean Ricard of the French Physical Society (1983), the Einstein Prize for Laser science (1988), the Humbold Award (1992), the Michelson Medal from the Franklin Institute (1993), the Tomassoni Award from La Sapienza University (Rome, 2001), the Quantum Electronics prize of the European Physical Society (2002), the Quantum Communication Award of the International Organization for Quantum Communication, Measurement and Computing (2002), the Townes Award of the Optical Society of America (2007), the CNRS Gold Medal (2009) and the Herbert Walther Prize of the German Physical Society and the Optical Society of America (2010). Serge Haroche is a member of the French Academy of Sciences and a Foreign Member of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States and of the Brazilian Academy of Sciences.

Luiz Davidovich, President of Brazilian Academy of Sciences

His work focuses mainly in the field of quantum optics and quantum information. His major contributions are in the fields of decoherence, entanglement, laser theory and quantum metrology. He has analyzed in detail the role of the environment in the dynamics of quantum coherence and quantum entanglement, and also in quantum metrology. In 2000, he was awarded the Brazilian Grand-Cross of the National Order of Scientific Merit. He won the 2001 Physics Prize of The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS). In 2006, he was elected foreign associate to the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America. He also won, in 2010, the most important prize for science in Brazil, the Admiral Alvaro Alberto prize, awarded by the Brazilian National Research Council. He is fellow of the Optical Society of America and of the American Physical Society. He was member of the Executive Board of the International Council of Science (ICSU) in the period 2011-2014. He is President of the Brazilian Academy of Science.

José Mauricio López, Director Cinvestav U.Q.

He is the Founding Director of the Directorate of Time and Frequency Metrology (DTyF) of the National Metrology Center (CENAM). He is currently Director of the Cinvestav Unidad Querétaro. He is a member of the Advisory Council of Sciences of the Presidency of the Republic. He won the  National Science and Arts Award, 2014. He is a member of the Time and Frequency Advisory Committee  of the International Committee of Weights and Measures. He is a member of the Working Group of the Inter-American Metrology System, an organization dependent on the Organization of American States. He is a member of the Mexican Society of Physics. Member of the Quantum Information Division of the Mexican Society of Physics. Member of the Institute of Electric and Electronic Engeeniers (IEEE). He specializes in the radiation-matter interaction in order to manipulate atoms with light and create ultra-cold matter for the development of atomic clocks. He promoted the development of the atomic clock of ultra cold matter called the atomic source of CENAM to materialize the unit of time of the International System of Units to measure time with an accuracy of 15 significant numbers. It promoted the development of the reference time scale of the American continent called SIMT.